Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Bwindi comprises 331 sq km of jungle forests and contains both montane and lowland forest, and is accessible only on foot.  The park provides habitat for some 120 species of mammals, 346 species of birds, 202 species of butterflies, 163 species of trees, 100 species of ferns, 27 species of frogs, chameleons, geckos and many endangered species. In particular the area shares in the high levels of endemisms of the Albertine Rift. It has been designated as a World Heritage Site.

The park has about 340 individual mountain gorillas (Gorilla beringei beringei), almost half of all the mountain gorillas in the world. A 2006 census of the mountain gorilla population in the park showed that its numbers had increased from 320 individuals in 2002 to 340 individuals in 2006.

As well as gorillas, species in the park include the Common Chimpanzee, L’Hoest’s Monkey, African elephant, African Green Broadbill, and Cream-banded Swallowtail, black and white colobus, red-tailed monkeys, vervets, and the giant forest hog.

SPOT: Blue monkey, Black & White Colobus, Mountain Gorilla, Side striped Jackal, Zorilla, East African Civet, Sevraline Genet, Egyptian Mongoose, Slender Mongoose, Serval, African Golden cat, African elephant, Bush pig, Giant Forest Hog, Bushbuck, Black-fronted Duiker, Yellow-backed Duiker, Potto, Dwarf Galago, Thomas’ Galago, Olive baboon, Red-Tailed Monkey, L’Hoest’s Monkey, Chimpanzee, Rusty Spotted Genet, African palm civet, Marsh Mongoose, Banded Mongoose, Aardvark, Tree Pangolin, Eastern needle-clawed Galago (not confirmed), Peter’s Duiker (not confirmed), White-bellied Duiker (not confirmed), Blue Duiker (not confirmed), Leopard (extinct in park), African Buffalo (extinct in park.

Bwindi Impenetrable Forest is one of the richest ecosystems in Africa, and the diversity of species is a feature of the park.

Gorilla Trekking in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Mubare Group (‘M’ group) was opened for tourism in 1993 and consists of 6 members with one silverback.

Habinyanja Group (‘H’ group) was opened for tourism in 1998 and is composed of 18 individuals with 2 silverbacks.

Rushegura Group (‘R’ group) is composed of 19 membersand was opened for tourism in 2002

Nkuringo Group (‘N’ group) was opened for tourism in 2004 and is composed of 19 members and one silverback.

Nshongi Group was opened for tourism in September 2009 and composed of 36 individuals with 3 silverbacks.

Bitukura Group (‘B’ group) was opened for tourism in December 2008 and is composed of 13 individual.

Kyaguriro Group (‘K’ group) with 17 members